Site icon Short Biography

Percy Bysshe Shelley

Percy Bysshe Shelley was a major English poet. He is recognized as one of the greatest romantic poets in history. Percy Bysshe Shelley gained fame after his death. He is also the husband of Mary Shelley, who is the author of Frankenstein. His most notable poems are Ozymandias, Ode to the West Wind, To a Skylark, Music, When Soft Voices Die, The Cloud and The Masque of Anarchy.

Percy Bysshe Shelley was born on August 4, 1972. He was born near Sussex. He was the eldest son of Timothy Shelley and Elizabeth Pitford. He had four younger sisters and a brother. Percy Bysshe Shelley attended Eton College. He was suffered mob torment at the hands of older boys. This phenomenon almost took place on a daily basis. This was due to his refusal to work as a servant to his seniors. Percy Bysshe Shelley was nicknamed Mad Shelley. He enrolled in University College, Oxford. It is rumored that he only attended one lecture.

Percy Bysshe Shelley published few gothic novels during his Oxford years. Zastrozzi and St. Irvyne; or, The Rosicrucian. He was expelled from Oxford for writing The Necessity of Atheism. Percy Bysshe Shelley admired the writing of William Goodwin. Percy Bysshe Shelley said he was inspired by him. He eventually became William Goodwin’s apprentice.

After Percy Bysshe Shelley was expelled from Oxford married Harriet Westbrook. The couple separated due to interference in their life from Harriet’s sister Eliza. Harriet committed suicide by drowning. He later married his mentor’s daughter Mary Wollstonecraft.

In 1822 Percy Bysshe Shelley drowned in the Gulf of Spezia. Mary Shelley later claimed the boat was never seaworthy. There are lots of theories behind his death. The theories range from murder to suicide. And it is also said that maybe pirates mistook his boat to be of Lord Byron’s. It is said that Indian poets Rabindranath Tagore and Jibananda Das was influenced by Percy Bysshe Shelley’s writings.

Major works


Short prose works

“The Assassins, A Fragment of a Romance” (1814)
“The Coliseum, A Fragment” (1817)
“The Elysian Fields: A Lucianic Fragment” (1818)
“Una Favola (A Fable)” (1819, originally in Italian)

External Links

More Info: Wiki | British Library | Poerty Foundation | Britannica

Exit mobile version